Likes Likes:  370
Page 1 of 53 1231151 ... LastLast

Thread: The HiFi and Home Theater thread...what gear are you listening to?

The HiFi and Home Theater thread...what gear are you listening to?

I figured I'd start this thread as I've been in the consumer electronics, home entertainment space for over 35 years. A bit about my background;

I started as a stock boy at age 15 at an old HiFi chain called Tech HiFi. Worked my way through school by working at HiFi stores in Harvard Square and Boston, and when out, tried my hand at what I studied and hated it. I was a mediocre musician at best and wanted to be around music, so I went on to manage an A/V store called Sound Advice in HVD2.

Worked in retail for many years and landed a job at Cambridge Soundworks, one of the first direct to consumer companies, moved on to a company called CWD which sold purpose designed A/V furniture, and they were owned by the same company that owned and distributed B&W speakers and Rotel electronics. I was the National Sales Manager for CWD but I got to wear the B&W and Rotel hats while traveling the US on occasion.

Went to Linn Products (Scotland) as the National and moved on to perhaps my best gig until my latest, which was the VP of Sales and Marketing for Mark Levinson. I got to work with the engineering team on design (mostly ID as I'm no engineer), and I ran the brand worldwide. Did this for a few years and went on to be the President of Meridian in NA, but only for a year as my Dad passed and I moved back home to be with my family.

I distributed the Wharfedale brand of speakers for the past 4-5 years and very recently, two weeks ago, took a position with SVS speakers as Director of Global Sales. SVS makes the best subwoofers in the world and our new speakers are one of the best values anywhere.